Now this is something awesome from an awesome blog…

Home Grown Lutherie

Yes, the title is correct! This is about using egg whites as a grain filler. Grain filling is often a long, painful, laborious process…but egg whites make things quite a bit easier in my opinion. This is a very old method of grain filling, and likely was used in the past by Luthiers and furniture makers before manufactured grain fillers were sold commercially.

I used this method a year or so ago with success, and then forgot about it until somebody on one of the guitar building forums (MLP Luthier’s corner) used it and it reminded me. There are many different methods for doing this, but I’m sharing the method that I’ve found has worked for me. I recommend you practice on some scraps first though and find the method you feel the most comfortable with – ultimately it doesn’t matter how you do it, as long as the product…

View original post 447 more words

Leave a Reply

