Fifth Coats

on

Think I’m about done. The master gel is filling the pores o the sapele. I kinda like the sheen the teak oil gives the wood.

I think what I might do is use the teak oil for most of the body back and perhaps a thin layer of master gel for added protection. The top is gonna be all master gel.

Now after searching all over I gather that Danish oil is linseed based and Teak oil is tung based both with some varnish and driers. Other than that the names are super misleading.

The linseed based oils can be used with a few drops of Japan drier to speed up the drying process. I use it with my tru oil finishes. I’ve heard that for tung oil finishes you’d have to use a cobalt drier.

Shorter piece is the one with master gel.

20130603-121516.jpg

20130603-121608.jpg

20130603-121639.jpg

20130603-121906.jpg

20130603-122036.jpg

Leave a Reply

