Mag Swapping in Seymour Duncan’s Custom Shop Pickups

Mag Swapping in Seymour Duncan’s Custom Shop Pickups

Here’s a Blog post from Seymour Duncan featuring my clips using the custom set of pickups MJ wound for me. They are a set of Zebra Pearly Gates/ Custom Hybrids. I had them send a few different kinds of pickups for me to tryout. I found the perfect response with the Ceramic for the bridge and the Alnico 8 for neck. I have since ordered a set for my next Seven String baritone build! Thanks Seymour Duncan!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. sprocket says:

    Did you get the Custom Shop Seymour Duncan Pickups mate !

    1. purelojik says:

      Yep! I made some sound clips too. I used different magnets to hear the difference. It’s subtle but the feel of the pickups changes dramatically. If you click on the link you’ll be taken to Seymour Duncan’s blog where Scott Olson writes about different magnets and uses the clips I made as a demo of what you can do from the custom shop.

  2. sprocket says:

    Thanx for the comeback , don t know why I missed those clips !

    I listened to them after I posted here today , very interesting .

    Love SDs for Electric Guitars .

    1. purelojik says:

      yea they are awesome pickups, if you want the same ones call up Maricela Juarez in the custom shop and ask her for the pickups she made for Alexander Mylavarapu. They are the Pearly Gates Custom Hybrids with a Ceramic bridge and Alnico 8 neck.

  3. sprocket says:

    Thancx for the reply mate . Isn t she the one in charge of the Custom Shop @ Seymour Duncan !

    Love following your stuff .

    1. purelojik says:

      yea shes the one who makes the custom shop orderes. she has an archive of the models people order. at least i remember she said she did a while back.

      1. sprocket says:

        Hey thanx , might have some guitar Pickups built by them for a future project .

    1. purelojik says:

      That’s the bareknuckle aftermath in my baritone 7 string I built

  4. sprocket says:

    I tought these were the ones . anyhow , they re also sound great , some haevey stuff in there right ! Love it .

Leave a Reply

