Imbuya’s Headstock (Nearly) Complete

This imbuya build is mainly a testing ground for a lot of the things I’ve never tried before that I’d like to incorporate into Roger’s build –without using his build to be my guinea pig.

Binding the headstock was a lot harder than I’d expected based on how smoothly the body binding went. Took damn near an hour. The vinyl contact cement that stew mac suggests is also very very finicky. It doesn’t start when squeezed but when you need it it gushes out like water. Anyways it does the job but you must work quickly. I also add a bit of thick CA on the top so it can seep into the cracks as I’m getting the binding tape stretched. If you buy the brown binding tape from stew mac remember it only works well if you stretch it around whatever you need to bind. Using it like reg tpa won’t do anything.

Anyways after an hour I was able to chisel the proud part of the binding and scrape it flush with a plane blade.

I’m very proud of the result and the edges are mitered pretty well if I say so myself.

IMG_2281.JPG

IMG_2282.JPG

IMG_2283.JPG

IMG_2285.JPG

IMG_2286.JPG

IMG_2288.JPG

IMG_2289.JPG

IMG_2297.JPG

IMG_2293.JPG

IMG_2294.JPG

IMG_2296.JPG

IMG_2301-0.JPG

IMG_2303.JPG

IMG_2299.JPG

IMG_2298.JPG

IMG_2302.JPG

Leave a Reply

