Ganesh Rao’s Neck Fretted

This rosewood is looking amazing. Look at the figure and colors after the boards been sanded to 600. I applied two coats of odie’s oil and one coat of wood butter and buffed it till it shined.

I then installed gold evo frets, man these look smart together.

IMG_2425.JPG

IMG_2423.JPG

IMG_2424.JPG

IMG_2441.JPG

IMG_2436.JPG

IMG_2440.JPG

IMG_2439.JPG

IMG_2442.JPG

IMG_2468.JPG

IMG_2465.JPG

IMG_2463.JPG

IMG_2492.JPG

IMG_2489.JPG

IMG_2490.JPG

IMG_2488-0.JPG

IMG_2491.JPG

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Phil says:

    Hello! Looks beautiful! Can you please tell me if you glue the frets? I am considering putting the odie’s on the fingerboard of a guitar I am building and was wondering whether the oil would interfere with the glue.
    Thanks,
    Phil

    1. purelojik says:

      Hey thanks for stopping by!

      Before fretting I oiled with odie’s oil and then let it dry for a day or two before I began fretting.

      I used a syringe and some titebond original all along the fret slot. Then I pressed the frets in with a vise and a stew mac radius caul. I waited a day for the glue to dry (it’s really only there to fill the gaps and harden) then I snipped the ends and sanded flush.

      1. Phil O. says:

        Sounds good. I was worried that the oil may interfere with the glue holding down in the fret slot if there is oil down in there.

      2. purelojik says:

        If you wanna rest easy, once the oil dries and everything, take a blade or a fretting saw and scrape the bottom of the fret slot a bit and use some compressed air to blow out the dust. You’ll expose some of the wood underneath and the glue will definitely adhere to that.

  2. Phil O. says:

    Thank you very much. On another issue, I am planning on using the EVO fret wire on this guitar. Are they much harder to work on than standard Jescar wire?

    1. purelojik says:

      yea they are somewhere between Nickel silver and Stainless steel. Use diamond impregnated tools for the easiest time

Leave a Reply

