New Prototype 7 String in the Works

Today marks 6 years since I started this crazy obsession/hobby of mine. I made a baritone 7 string which was my first guitar created stateside. It was big, clunky, and a composite of what I thought I liked at the time. It was inspiring though, I did end up writing an entire EP with just that guitar. 

 It was also where I learned most of my biggest lessons in lutherie. I definitely made things way harder than it should be and since I had no actual experience with power tools, every task seemed incredibly difficult. I was so afraid of making a mistake I’d just sit there and perseverate over everything. I’d take numerous pictures (which I still do now) Its when I started saying to myself,  who cares? It’s just wood. The hardest thing was making that first cut. After that though, everything was easier and faster and with each successive build, I feel myself becoming more confident. Along the way I’ve made some amazing friends in the guitar building community who’ve shared with me some tips and tricks which have saved me hours and hours of trouble. To everyone I’ve met along the way,  thank you. 

This build isn’t too flashy but the beauty lies in its simplicity. I wanted to have my own proper 7 string designed in the same vein as my 6 string fanned fret prototype. I’ve been hoarding wood over the past year or two so I chose some interesting pieces. I chose a solid body made of beautiful espave,  a gorgeous streaky Macassar ebony fingerboard which I’ll slot myself to 26.75-25, and this plum pudding figured African mahogany neckwood which has a high pitched sustaining tap tone. 

I’m trying out the one piece neck ala fender.  I’ve never done it before but after talking to Will McLeod online who uses this construction method, I decided to give it a shot. Six years ago it’d have taken me over a week to do what I did today. Even then I dont think I worked as efficiently as I probably could have. Anyways enough rambling. 

Leave a Reply

